Mark Petrov

A friend of Mark Petrov poet Roald Mandelstam realm of strict figures presented posleblokadny Leningrad, where they both began to write in the late 1940s, entering the circle of the leader of the Leningrad recusancy Alexander Aref'eva. Regal austerity meant in terms of Soviet aesthetic asceticism and renunciation of socialization. Unlike arefevtsev, Mark Petrov, who graduated from college with a course wizards Stieglitz, he went to serve in the plant pictorial decoration of Art, where his companion was moonlighting and 70, the genius of the second culture of Leningrad Evgeny Mikhnov-Voitenko. Petrov did not look at decorating orders as a side income. His main idea was to promgrafike eternal space, visible through the thin frame of a classic, as sozertsaemo mouth of the Neva embankments in the frame. Heavenly vast expanse of surface free water on the envelope "of Musical Arts in Leningrad," asserted their horizons neproshtampovannye Soviets. In the 1970s, the authorities caught up with the vengeance of the artist: the freedom of conscience, he had nearly lost his freedom and was forced to move from Leningrad to Vyborg.
In 1968, Petrov, wrote film "Memories of the Future", where the Soviet Red color sinks into the sunset palette P. Mandelstam, dissolving the silhouette of a five-pointed star, which lurks behind some of the pedestal of the communist tyrants. The right side of red sunset song goes out and comes icy glow exudes a host of persons, among them to discern the face of his wife Petrov, painter Joan Kuney. This is almost iconic motif - the so-angelic choirs represented - and the same characters in the painting Petrova has found in the compositions of "Faces of Friends" and "Zoo" (both 1968, the first is built around a portrait Aref'eva). However, the life, written by Petrov, is radically different from that recorded the mendicant artists. Vital energy in "Memories of the Future" is transformed into energy of eternity. This motionless dynamics, potential transitivity, when the body and texture of the material present, as has long been posthumously bring into being in being, transcendent to its natural history, R.Mandelshtam opened in the image of St. Petersburg cathedrals: "The moon harbors kafedraly / How bones of mammoths - Ice."
In art, there is no formal Petrova border between abstraction and figurative. So, Mark Petrov in their teens was able to bring traditionally considered invisible to the rest of his life to reflect on the fate of reigning in Petropolis Proserpine. In his meditation, he became the creative does not look like anyone else at the same time close to the brightest stars of the St. Petersburg art of the twentieth century.
Yekaterina Andreyeva.
 Mark Petrov - unjustifiably forgotten artist with a very interesting paintings and graphic works and biography. Mark Petrov was born in Leningrad in 1933. In my childhood in the besieged Leningrad, he lost a leg that has not stopped him from becoming in 1950 the famous dandy and marry the Polish-Lithuanian artist John Kuney (1955). In the early 1950s he became a friend of the artist and the poet Alexander Aref'eva Roald Mandelstam. Since it brings Arefiev study in SKHSH that Aref did not graduate, and Petrov in 1949 was able to finish my studies to the end and later enrolled in the Masters department at the Mukhina College, where he trained in 1951-1952. In 1960, Petrov approaches with other non-conformist leader of the Leningrad-Eugene-Mikhnova Voitenko and is friends with him in 1970. In life, he earns as Mikhnov at KHUDFOND since 1962 - in the Combine and design works beautifully, doing advertising and developing a style of Aeroflot, envelopes, plates, gift boxes of matches and candy, posters for the zoo.
Mark Petrov - author of the first circuit of the Leningrad subway, which became the basis for all subsequent and retained in the abstract lines reminder of the delta of the Neva River and the urban landscape.
Now, with the opening of the works of Mark promgrafiki Petrova, it is clear that the classic style of the 1960s in Leningrad, where he had been brought in, including Timur Novikov - this style is Mark Petrov. In 1972 he was prosecuted in connection with the Buddhists in the case of Leningrad B. Dandaron. From 1980 until his death in 2004, lives in seclusion in Viborg, where he wrote a biographical novel, which has not yet been published.
Works of Mark Petrov are in the collections of the State Russian Museum, Museum of Nonconformist Art in Pushkin, 10, of the State Museum "Tsarskoe collection", as well as in private collections.

Марк Петров

Друг Марка Петрова поэт Роальд Мандельштам царством строгих фигур представил послеблокадный Ленинград, где оба они начинали писать в конце 1940-х, входя в круг лидера ленинградского нонконформизма Александра Арефьева. Царственная строгость означала в советских условиях эстетический аскетизм и отказ от социализации. В отличие от арефьевцев, Марк Петров, окончивший курс мастеров при училище Штиглица, пошел служить в Комбинат живописно-оформительских искусств, где подрабатывал и его собеседник 70-х, гений второй культуры Ленинграда Евгений Михнов-Войтенко. Петров не смотрел на оформительские заказы как на побочный заработок. В его промграфике главной была идея вечного простора, видимого через  тонкую классическую раму, как созерцаемо устье Невы в оправе набережных. Небесный простор над бескрайней поверхностью свободной воды на конверте «Музыкального искусства Ленинграда» утверждал свои горизонты, непроштампованные советской властью. В 1970-е мщение этой власти настигло художника: за свободу совести он чуть было не лишился свободы и вынужден был переехать из Ленинграда в Выборг.

В 1968-м Петров пишет картину «Воспоминания о будущем», где красный советский колер погружается в закатные гаммы Р. Мандельштама, растворяющие силуэт пятиконечной звезды, которая маячит за постаментом кого-то из коммунистических тиранов. В правой части композиции красный закат гаснет и наступает льдистое сияние, источаемое сонмом лиц, среди которых различимо лицо жены Петрова, художницы Иоанны Куней. Этот почти иконный мотив – так изображали ангельские хоры – и эти же персонажи в живописи Петрова встречаются еще в композициях «Лица друзей» и «Зоопарк» (обе 1968 года, первая выстроена вокруг портрета Арефьева). Впрочем, жизнь, написанная Петровым, радикально отличается от той, что фиксировали Нищенствующие живописцы. Витальная энергия в «Воспоминании о будущем» трансформирована в энергию вечности. Такую недвижную динамику, потенциальную переходность, когда тело и материальная фактура присутствуют, являясь давно уже посмертно сущими в бытии, запредельном для своей естественной истории, Р.Мандельштам открыл в образе петербургских соборов: «Луна лелеет кафедралы / Как кости мамонтов – ледник». 

В искусстве Петрова нет формальной границы между абстракцией и фигуративностью. Так, Марк Петров еще в юношестве сумел воплотить традиционно считающееся незримым, чтобы потом всю жизнь размышлять над судьбой царящей в Петрополе Прозерпины. В своей творческой медитации он стал не похож ни на кого и одновременно близок самым ярким звездам петербургского искусства ХХ века.

Екатерина Андреева.

 Марк Петров - неоправданно забытый художник с весьма интересными живописными и графическими работами и биографией. Марк Петров родился в Ленинграде в 1933 году. В детстве в блокадном Ленинграде он потерял ногу, что не помешало ему стать в 1950-е известным модником и жениться на польско-литовской художнице Иоанне Куней (1955). В начале 1950-х он становится приятелем художника Александра Арефьева и поэта Роальда Мандельштама. С Арефьевым его сближает учеба в СХШ, которую Арефьев не окончил, а Петров в 1949-м смог доучиться до конца и позднее поступил на отделение мастеров при Мухинском училище, где стажировался в  1951-1952 годах. В 1960-е Петров сближается с другим лидером ленинградского нонконформизма -Евгением Михновым-Войтенко и дружит с ним в 1970-е годы. На жизнь он зарабатывает, как и Михнов, при Худфонде с 1962 года - в Комбинате живописно-оформительских работ, делая рекламы и разрабатывая стиль Аэрофлота, конверты пластинок, сувенирные коробки спичек и конфет, афиши для Зоопарка.

Марк Петров - автор первой схемы Ленинградского метрополитена, которая стала основой для всех последующих и сохранила в абстракции линий напоминание о дельте Невы и городском пейзаже.

Теперь, с открытием произведений промграфики Марка Петрова, понятно, что классический стиль Ленинграда 1960-х, на котором был воспитан  в том числе и Тимур Новиков - это стиль именно Марка Петрова. В 1972-м он подвергается уголовному преследованию за связь с ленинградскими буддистами по делу Б. Дандарона. С 1980-х до смерти в 2004-м уединенно живет в Выборге, где пишет биографический роман, который еще не опубликован.

Произведения Марка Петрова находятся в собраниях Государственного Русского музея, Музея нонконформистского искусства на Пушкинской, 10, Государственного музея "Царскосельская коллекция", а также в частных коллекциях.